Uncategorized

Delicious Travel Journal using Photoshop!

I am in-love!! I was working on a project with my oldest cub and was looking for some beautiful vintage travel images. While I was looking, I came across this Photoshop Tutorial!

Vintage Travel Journal Photo Shop Tutorial, DIY

I am de-lighted!  This is so pretty and I can not wait to try and make one myself.  I have dabbled in art journals, and creating projects with mixed media.  I love the feeling and texture of mixed media art.  The only problem with mixed media and having 7 little cubs rolling around is the M-E-S-S.

Tree of Life Mixed Media's Picture-If you saw it in real life you would see tons of tiny words woven throughout the tree representing the blessings the Lord weaves throughout our lives.

My cubs are growing and my new house design has an Art Room so this may change in the future.  Earlier this year I discovered Photo shop and have been able to manage my urges to create (though I would rather using mixed media’s instead of the computer) AND keep my house clean.  Unfortunately I know so little about how to get the look I want from photoshop (it took ages to figure out how resize an image) and so tutorials like this are heaven sent. I love to create.

Create! oh that is an exciting word, and how can I talk about creating without thinking about Elder Utchdorfs talk in Relief Society on that very subject?  I remember sitting in the mother lounge nursing my littlest cublet, while I listened to his talk.
I still remember the thrill I felt when I heard his words.  It was one of those ‘a-hah’ moments.  Those words sang to my soul.  Finally I had an answer to a question someone asked me years ago.

About 13 years ago a young pregnant married girl asked me why I ‘crafted’ so much.

My first Photo Shop attempt with my own Baby Cub

Wouldn’t it be easier, cheaper and better to just work and then ‘buy’ things instead of trying to make them?  She asked.  I didn’t have a real satisfying answer (I knew she was struggling with the decision to become a stay-at-home mother. She wondered if she would have enough to do at home (grin) and if she would like it. She worried that she would be stuck doing nothing all day (double grin) while she held her baby.  I am happy to report that she did become a stay at home mother and has NEVER been bored.  Exhausted, tired but not bored.  I am even more happy to report that she is the most amazing mother and ‘out crafts’ me by miles 🙂  Anywho, when I heard Elder Uchtdorf’s talk on creating I finally could say in words something that my heart has always known “The desire to create is one of the deepest yearnings of the human soul”  That is so true.  And equally as true, are the words that follow “. . .no matter our talents, educations, or backgrounds, we each have the inherent wish to create something that did not exist before.”  he goes on to say ” You are the spirit daughters of the most creative being in the universe.  Isn’t it remarkable to think that your very spirits are fashioned by an endlessly creative and eternally compassionate God?” and then he says words that touch me EVERY time I hear it. “Your spirit bodies are a MASTERPIECE created with the beauty, function and capacity BEYOND IMAGINATION”  Oh I LOVE those words!  I LOVE even more the truth that lay behind those words.  We ARE masterpieces created by an “endlessly creative and eternally compassionate God”.   Here is a movie someone made to that memorable incredible inspiring talk! 

Leave a Reply

