Plantain Salve-Well Naturally

Treasure Discovered

Treasure Discovered

This morning, as the sun bounced off my scriptures I had the urge to check out my yard to see what herbs might be lurking about.  Since I am building a house this year, I have decided to not plant a garden for the first time in 15 years.  I don’t think I really ‘won’t’ plant a garden considering the fact that I have 13 tomato plants growing in my window sill and a dozen herbs planted at my sisters house.  We shall see though.

Healing Hands

Healing Hands

I love herbs and using them to heal as much as possible.  I have been making home remedies for years and so you can guess my delight when I read this line in the Book Of Mormon “, and you can guess my delight when I read this line in the Book Of Mormon:

Preparing Plantain

Preparing Plantain

40 And there were some who died with fevers, which at some seasons of the year were very frequent in the land—but not so much so with fevers, because of the excellent qualities of the many aplants and roots which God had prepared to remove the cause of bdiseases, to which men were subject by the nature of the climate—(Alma 46:40)

Vessel Filled With Plantain

Vessel Filled With Plantain

Plantain Covered in Olive Oil

Plantain Covered in Olive Oil

Because I love herbs, vegetables, planting and gardens with a passion, I have to do something to feed my inner gardener and making an herbal remedy seemed just the thing.  I was delighted to find a recipe from an amazing herbalist Connie Henries, pop into my in box.I have used Connies First Aid Salve a ton and it works amazingly.  Recently I used her glycerine extract for cough and cold on my five month old baby who was sicker than any of my babies ever have been.  It worked wonders.  It worked so good in fact that I am determined to make my own this year and have it on hand for emergencies.  Luckily I had a little left over from my babies cold because my close friend was battling mastitist and losing before I send the left overs to her and it helped incredibly.  So with all this swirling in my mind, I went on my own ‘herb-walk’ in back yard.  To my delight I found a huge batch of Plantain!!

I quickly gathered a bunch, cut it up and stuffed a jar full of it.  Then covered it with Olive Oil.  Normally I like to cover  the herbs with a cheese cloth, but with all these little hands around I am just putting a normal lid on and leaving it open daily to air out.  I will let this jar steep in the sunlight for 4-6 weeks before straining it, and mixing it with bees-wax (from my own bee hive that died this year 😦 )

Cover the Oil Covered Plantain With A Cloth

Cover the Oil Covered Plantain With A Cloth

I have done this many times with Comfrey and it has helped my childrens wounds a plethora of times.  I have never used plantain in a salve before, but have used it many times for wounds, bee stings, and to draw out infection.

The first time I saw plantain used, I was was amazed.  My sister had an awful reaction to a bee sting.  Her foot swelled up for two days and caused her extreme pain.  She took some antihistamines but nothing helped.  Finally in desperation she went to Connie and got a plantain compress.  Her foot immediately got better.  This sounded wild to me but I saw it work first hand when my daughter stepped on a rusty nail.  It went so deep and that night her foot was completely swollen.  When we took her into the doctors they were shocked and said that her reaction was abnormal because it usually takes more than a few hours to cause a wound to swell and be infected.  They prescribe her an anti-biotic.  Since the drug store was closed at night I found a bunch of plantain, chopped it up and lightly warmed it in oil (to release the healing properties.  I could have chewed it and made a spit compress, but it tastes gross) and after placing it on the puncture hole I wrapped her foot in saran wrap.  I have to admit, I was delighted to have an excuse to try out plantain.  My family is usually so healthy that I don’t get to practice my ‘herbal skills’ very much.  To my delight her foot was almost healed by the morning.

It is times like this, when I reflect on the goods of the earth that God has provided us-free for the taking, that I feel so richly blessed.

2 thoughts on “Plantain Salve-Well Naturally

  1. Pingback: Figuratively Tapped Upon The Shoulder « Aunty Bears Blog

Leave a Reply

