Children, Home Remidies, Learning, Recipies, Service, Uncategorized

Figuratively Tapped Upon The Shoulder

  • “To each there comes in their lifetime a special moment when they are figuratively tapped on the shoulder and offered the chance to do a very special thing, unique to them and fitted to their talents. What a tragedy if that moment finds them unprepared or unqualified for that which could have been their finest hour.”Winston Churchill
Boo Boo Juice Recipe
Green Cream for all cuts, Owies and Diaper Rash

I had a friend who felt prompted to learn sign language in high school   She keenly remembers her choice to ignore that prompting and take something else instead.  Years later she gave birth to her second child.  He was perfect in every it seemed at first, but as he approached his 3rd birthday he could hardly communicate verbally and would resort to throwing fits, screaming and becoming violent.  After many visits to the doctors she found out that her son was slightly autistic.  She came home from that visit crying because of the diagnose as well as a simple comment made by the doctor.  Trying to help her gain skills to communicate with her son he suggested that she “learn sign language’ because they have found that many autistic children can communicate using sign language.  That information broke her heart.  How many tantrums (thrown out of frustration for not being able to communicate) could have been help, and how many tears saved if she had but listened to those promptings so long ago?  President Monson said in this last conference that “Happiness comes from living the way the Lord wants you to live and from service to God and others.” If this is so, I believe that God will give us prompting as to what our special gift or purpose on life is and in what way we can best serve others.

This week a little tapping came upon my shoulder by the way of a very yucky flu that visited my sisters and their families.  Starting with a splitting headache, pale face and tiredness, it has clung on to it’s victims with a tenacity I wish my children would use on their daily chores.

A few of the kids have thrown up, but most just sit on the couch moaning because they feel sick,

Tummy Ache Remedy
12 Natural Tummy Ache Remedy

their head hurts, they can’t breathe or they are hungry (but have no desire to eat).  Being the only well sister between the two, I have cautiously poked my head in bringing herbal teas, essential oils, crafts, movies, or whatever else I think might help.

So far my family has stayed safe and healthy, but I am not too hopeful that I will have this flu skip over us since normally our kids visit each other daily.

So what were the ‘tappings’ I spoke of earlier?  Well, since I have been quite young, 16 or 17, I have felt this quiet prompting to become as self-sufficient as I can.  I started canning in earnest at 18 (to my mothers amazement since she never thought to encourage such activities that haunted her childhood), inviting missionaries over at 19 to practice my cooking skills (I figured that they would be too polite to refuse my dishes no matter how bad-still chuckle at the first turkey I cook upside down), and trying to garden the first year of my marriage.

Baby Benji's congested :(
Onion poultice For Baby Benji’s congestion 😦

Along with the promptings to learn to grow, preserve and cook food, I have been keenly interested in everything herbal. One of my favorite passages in the Book Of Mormon is

Alma 46:40 And there were some who died with fevers, which at some seasons of the year were very frequent in the land—but not so much so with fevers, because of the excellent qualities of the many plants and roots which God had prepared to remove the cause of diseases, to which men were subject by the nature of the climate—

I this passage because there is something sublime seeing in scripture something your heart knows (in this case, seeing that God created plants and roots for us to use to treat illness’)  For the past 15 years have read books, taken courses and watched movies in hopes that herbalogy would distill upon my brain and one day be a great help to me.  Gratefully 15 years later when my sisters were on their deathbeds (so they said it felt like), I had a few ingredients on hand to create remedies and administer to them the best I could.  As I rubbed oils on feet

Decongestion Foot Rub
Decongestion Foot Rub–Rub camphor and peppermint oil on feel to help them decongest.  I have also rubbed crushed garlic on their feet with good results.  Cool experiment, wait awhile and their burps will be garlicky :0

, brewed tea, disinfected door knobs and told stories I couldn’t  help but to think about what I would do if the a pandemic broke out-how would we take care of each other then.  In my town, recently a slew of guests at a funeral got food poisoning.  The first 13 were admitted, and the rest turned away because there was ‘no room’.  What does that mean in times of an epidemic?  I think it means that I better listen to that little tappings on my shoulders and start now to memorize how to treat the basic sickness’ and illness’ that are bound to come our way so that if I am ever tapped on the shoulder by way of massive sickness’

(or I happen to have an ill neighbor), that I will be ready for ‘my finest hour’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

